City kids dominate Sports Climbing competition

PUN’s talented spots climbers Ananya Anbhule, Rahul Vishwakarma, Soumya Joshi, and Rudra Salunkhe bagged gold medals in their respective age groups at the West Zone Kids Lead Climbing Competition recently held in the city.

Indian Mountaineering Foundation (IMF), New Delhi, the apex body governing mountaineering, trekking, sport climbing and allied adventure activities in India had entrusted IMF West Zone Committee to conduct this tournament for kids from the states of Maharashtra, Goa, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Gujarat along with Diu Daman. Along with the West Zone Kid’s Lead Climbing Competition, the IMF West Zone Committee also organised a training workshop for judges, route setters and belayers at the Raje Shivaji Climbing Wall from March 5 to 8, 2020.

The training programme evoked an overwhelming response with 25 trainees from different places in the West Zone, with maximum participation from Maharashtra. The Kid’s Lead Climbing Competition which was held on March 7 and 8 provided a platform to all trainees of the course to have practical work experience during the competition itself.

The Kid’s Lead Climbing Competition was a real show for best athletes in the country being a part of it and the Kid’s had a great show for the spectators. The competition clearly showed that the climbing grades of these kids have gone up and they certainly will prove their mettle at the highest levels.

The Kid’s Lead Climbing Competition saw athletes participating in Youth C (12 – 13 years) and Youth D (10 – 11 years) groups for Girls and Boys.

The training workshop and the competition was supported by Shri Shivaji Vyayam Mandal, Sports Climbing Association District Pune, Pimpri Chinchwad Mountaineering Association, Sports Climbing Association (Maharashtra State). K Saraswati the chairperson of the IMF West Zone Committee and a senior member of IMF who also is a Tenzing Norgay Awardee graced the prize distribution ceremony along with the PMC’s ex Standing Committee Chairman Balasaheb Bodake, Prabhakar Durge, President Shri Shivaji Vyayam Mandal, Surendra Shelke, President Sports Climbing Association (Maharashtra State), social worker Sachin Mulik, and International Judge and IMF West Zone Secretary Shrikrishna Kaduskar.

The results: Youth C Girls: Ananya Anbhule – Gold, Anika Musale – Silver, Mahi Mankar – Bronze; Youth C Boys: Rahul Vishwakarma – Gold, Nimish Dangekar – Silver, Arnav Khanzode – Bronze, Youth D Girls: Soumya Joshi – Gold, Sharayu Ghongde – Silver, Jiza Malve – Bronze; Youth D Boys: Rudra Salunkhe – Gold, Sumeet More – Silver, Neil Warke – Bronze.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *